Selkirk Merchant Company  


Welcome to the Company website.       

You can browse to keep up to date with news, event information and the sporting calendar not to mention a bit about our History, lists of ex-Masters and ex-Standard Bearers.

The website has been designed to be visually appealing with photos of our events and functions being added when appropriate.

There's a menu along the top row at the right to enable you to navigate around the site. 

If any members have news items, old photos, etc. please get in touch with the web administrator or the Company committee. 



Bowling action 2018

In the annual Shawburn Trophy match against the Ex-SBs the Merchants regained the trophy with a 3-1 win. A report and picture(s) will be added when received.

The bowling and quiz was held at Ettrick Forest Bowling Cub. Well done to Grant Kinghorn, Kelly Mitchell and Ian Pretswell on winning the bowling. The winning quiz team was Robin Elliot, Agnes Mitchell, David Mitchell, Grant Murray, Jade Fraser and Ian Pretswell. 


Bowling action 2017

Well done to the ExRBSB's who won the Shawburn Trophy from us with a 3-1 win. All had a good night and thanks to the 16 members who played. Normal service will be returning in 2018 when we fully expect to welcome the trophy back to the arms of the Company.

The annual bowling and quiz night was held at Ettrick Forest. The winners of the Bowling were Merle Heard, Graeme Wood and Grant Kinghorn. The Quiz winners were Andy Moyes, Andrew Proudfoot, Rona Murray and Judith Thomson.  Many thanks to all for making it another great night.


Bowling reports and pictures for 2016

Shawburn Trophy

The Merchant Company successfully retained the trophy against old rivals Ex-SBs in a rain swept match on 19 August.  This was a close run thing with ties even at 2 - 2 and the result depending on the shot count.  Final shot tally was 47 - 42 to the Merchants.  The trophy was presented by Ex-SB Chairman Dougie Gunn with Merchants Master Dougie Hogarth receiving.  Well done to the Merchants.  Photo below.

Social bowling and quiz

The Bowling and Quiz night took place on 26 August in glorious sunshine for a change. Some 40 members and partners took part in a ''friendly'' bowling challenge followed by a quiz compiled by the ever devious Alison & David Nichol. It really pains me to report that both the bowling and quiz were won by Master Douglas Hogarth and his team of Agnes Mitchell, David Deacon and Judith Thomson. Well done to team Hogarth. The organisers report that a full review of the evening's proceedings will be taking place to establish if there has been any ''jiggery pokey'' given that the Master, for some reason, seems to be unbeatable at the moment.  Thanks must go to Alison & david for organising. 


Bowling reports and pictures for 2015

Shawburn Trophy success

On Friday 21st August the annual bowling challenge between the Merchants and Ex-Standard Bearers was held at Ettrick Forest.  The Merchants won by 4 rinks to 0 (51 shots to 29) and in so doing successfully held onto the Shawburn Trophy which they retained in 2014.  Ex-SB Chairman Douglas Gunn presented Merchant Company Master Douglas Hogarth with the trophy.  Click here for photo of presentation.

Social bowling and quiz

Selkirk Merchant Company Bowling and Quiz night was held once again at Ettrick Forest Bowling Club on Friday 28th and was a great success. A good turnout of 48 members and family attended.

The rain tried to put a dampener on the bowls but we managed 10 ends which resulted in some close games and some not so close games.

This year’s winning rink was skipped by the experienced Ron Robertson with Mark Nichol, Merle Heard and Viv Ross as his able team mates.  They had a very good winning score of 21pts, easily dispensing of their opponents, skipped by Bryan Hoggan, on the night.  

The Quiz once again provided the usual controversy and good fun.  Master Dougie Hogarth along with Agnes Mitchell, Al Pattullo and Fiona Deacon proved too hot to handle on the night and were run away winners with a commendable score of 94 out of 125.  Something tells me we will be hearing about this win for a few more months to come.

Unfortunately, we have to hand out boobie prizes and the honours this year go to Jim Cockburn, Judith Thomson, Jake Wheelans and Pam Cockburn for the Quiz and Andrew Proudfoot, Pat Clapperton, Andrew Anderson and Lina Purves win the prize for the Bowlin (readers will note that every member of the losing teams was either a past Master, ex-SB of Lady Busser!!!!!).

Thanks to everyone for coming along and making the night a success.  Also a huge thanks to Alison Nichol for making up this year’s quiz.

              the winning teams and their prizes    


best baby nappies